JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I shoot "quality" ammunition. Meaning if it's on the shelf, brass case, and it's a main stream name (and it's not from the old USSR... lol personal history leaves a mark) I shoot it. I know that some of my .22s occasionally don't like some ammo, but other than that they all eat it all just fine. So, it's all obviously "quality" stuff.

Or not. Reading another thread I realized I have zero knowledge about the real quality of the different factory brands. Or the sub-names of different brands.

By quality I mean quality of components, consistency; every round is the same, and safety; they don't blow up, hang, squib, etc.

Duck duck has been no help. Hell, one article on the "best quality" ammo basically has a list that looks like my criteria. "Hur dur I recognize that brand! hur dur..."

So, is there any objective quality knowledge of bog standard FMJ stuff out there? A list, say, of #1 Federal "Champion", #2 CCI "Blazer Brass", #3 Winchester "White Box", and so on. Or are they basically the same in components, consistency and safety? (which now that I've typed this all out I suspect is the case...)

I tend to buy any "big name" that is the cheapest at the time. Only import I use is S&B. Other than that the only one I avoid now in sadly Winchester. I have not had a problem with their "white box" line but, I hear too many stories of problems. The other is the steel case stuff of theirs. I was buying it for a while in 9mm as it was cheaper and I did not need any more brass. Then one day I got some REAL problems. I had dumped the boxes into containers and had a few hundred more at home. The problems were so scary that I tossed the stuff I had left at home as I had no way to know if the stuff at the range was the same lot of the stuff I had at home.