JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
It certainly is a gas system - piston driven NO. The bolt is not a piston. Call it what you will. I will call the Standard AR a direct infringement rifle since the bolt is directly impacted on by the gas from the round fired. There is nothing but a tube between the barrel and the bolt for the gas to travel down.

Interesting read.
I'm not an expert on AR's by any means and my understanding is based on the Adams Arms piston having the piston end of the rod mounted directly at the gas port of the barrel. The piston rod then extends into the breech and acts upon the bolt. Hence they run cleaner because gas is not entered directly into the breech.
Whereas the gas impingement/gas operated pipes the gas directly inside the breach and the gas acts directly on the bolt. Hence they run dirtier.

I cannot think of a piston driven rifle that as you say doesn't have an option rod. - what I call the piston. Perhaps other than the AR is there one? I know that FN FAL , FN49, M14, Garlands all have them.

wow haven't heard this argument in a while.....Titz is right by the way

this is one of those technical splitting hair subjects but he is right.

force is strong with this one , most people don't know enough words to argue about this subject

Stoner invented the Armalite 18 and it has a gas piston.
My Armalite 180 is a great rifle and operates very smoothly.

upload_2015-12-14_14-5-8.jpeg

And BTW I use to call the AR a DI system back when I was just shooting them. I didn't just wake up one day and realize it was wrong, I made a point to educate myself and really study up on my chosen weapons. I intend to move into the industry and figure I should do no less.