JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm fairly new to AR's but not new to home gunsmithing. I am looking for what small parts are essential to keep my rife running.

1: what parts can I replace in the field?

2: what parts are likely to break or where out on me?

3: what special tools should I have on hand?

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Last Edited:
IMHO if you are talking Grid-Down/SHTF situation the best spare parts to have is a complete second rifle.
If you are talking range plinking, then a spare bolt, charging handle, armorers tool, and sight adjustment tools, in your range bag.
Detail stripping a firearm in the field isn't the most plausible option. I would recommend sub-assemblies that can be swapped out easily rather than small intricate parts that require special tools or could be easily lost. For example, primary wear items would be gas rings and extractors but if you have a complete spare bolt you are all set there, and you can swap it out quickly. Springs can fatigue over time, but that will take a lot of shooting.

Last Edited:
Personally, a spare BCG is a good idea for a short term fix to keep you going, but I like to stock a spare cam pin, extractor, 0 and gas rings, firing pin, gas tube w/roll pin and a spring/pin/detent "oops kit" (something like this).

If I had to "anticipate" a failure it would probably be the extractor, cam pin or gas rings.

I check all firearms before going out and never anticipate any type of failure, nor have I ever had one, but nice to have just for peace of mind, and I'm the type that likes to put everything into working order ASAP vs. waiting around for parts.