JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
The following email was received from the Senator on February 15, 2013:

Thank you for your email about gun rights.

I believe that individuals should have the right to purchase certain types of firearms for self-defense. I also believe that concealed carry permits should be an option for some people. I also believe, however, that some common sense gun violence prevention measures are compatible with our 2nd amendment guarantees.

This legislation session I will be supporting two proposals regarding guns. The first is a ban on high capacity ammunition magazines. The second is a proposal to ban certain semi-automatic weapons. I believe neither high capacity magazines nor certain semi-automatic weapons are necessary for self-defense or hunting purposes.

However, as a family physician I do believe that these incidents should inspire us to look more closely at our mental health care system and begin discussing ways to improve it.

Once again, thank you for your email. Though we may disagree on this issue, please do not hesitate to contact me again with your ideas or concerns.

My best,

Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward, MD
Salem Phone: 503-986-1717
District Phone: 503-277-2467

The Senator's email address is: Sen Steiner Hayward<[email protected]>