JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I'll start this with ' I'm a rifle noob :s0092:'
So this year I finally got out elk hunting with some friends. I took the rifle my dad handed down to me, '65 Winchester Model64 in 30-06. We were in the coast range and I found that the Winchester was heavy & the scope seemed like it would be a disadvantage if I ever crossed paths with one of the dang beasts moving in all that brush. Two of my buds had Marlin 30-30 lever actions with iron sights only, Model ?? These or something like them seemed to be a better choice for the wet, brush of the Coast. Would love to stay with the 30-06 for common ammunition but like the idea of a lever action. Is there is a 30-06 lever? Or what is your elk gun for the west side?
Any suggestions & input would be appreciated.

A lot of critters have fallen to the 30-30 over the years. I have always used a 7mm mag to hunt with, up until the last couple years, and then it has been a 30-06. Never found a problem with weight or with using a scope in the brush. Choose something that will work for you.

You didn't give any details about the scope. For close in brush hunting, a 3X or higher magnification scope can be a liability trying to pick up a target quickly at close range. Maybe try a 1-4.5X variable scope or similar. Does the rifle have iron sights? Maybe try bagging the scope and just going with irons.

At the distance you are talking about turn your scope down to the lowest setting. At 3x a scope should not be a problem.