Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Educate me on this Russian SKS

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by dhhockinson, Apr 4, 2013.

1. dhhockinson

dhhockinson Hockinson WA New Member

I have what I believe to be, a Russian SKS that has never been fired. I purchased it about 17 years ago. I would like to know more about the gun. It's history, is it collectable, what is the value... I've included pictures of the markings on the gun. I'm curious what the X's mean on the stock.

Thanks!

photo 1.jpg

photo 2.jpg

photo 3.jpg

photo 4.jpg

2. Phillyfan

Phillyfan Oregon City, Oregon Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

Nice looking SKS.

3. OLDNEWBIE

OLDNEWBIE State of Flux Well-Known Member

Next in my collection if the gods continue to smile upon me.

4. civilian75

civilian75 Hillsboro, OR Well-Known Member

I am no expert but I don't think this is an un-fired firearm. It seems to be an arsenal refurbished.

A few years ago, I met a Russian feller in a PDX gun show who said that the serial number can be a good indicator of the mfg quality of the barrel. He said that factory changes the drill bit (or whatever) making the lands/grooves every ten barrels, being the s/n ending in zero the first one, and the ones ending in "9" the last one to use that bit. Take it with a grain of salt.

5. dhhockinson

Thank you civilan75. I'm sure you are correct on not being fired. What I should have said that I have never fired it since it was purchased....

6. jricker3

jricker3 Klamath Falls, OR Active Member

7. trainsktg

trainsktg Portland OR Well-Known Member