JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Though I feel it's an important skill to have, I don't know much about sharpening knives. The set in my kitchen is getting dull, and it'd be nice to have what I need to touch up my pocket knives when they're losing their edge. I'll need to sharpen both serrated and standard blades.

These seem to get good reviews, but I'm not sure if it's what I need: http://www.amazon.com/Smiths-PP1-Pocket-Multifunction-Sharpener/dp/B000O8OTNC/

Where do I start?

I have that same tool. It works well for knives that already have a good edge to work with. A few swipes from time to time keeps a good blade nice and sharp - kind of the same idea as a honing steel. When I worked in the field, I kept a small whetstone and some oil on hand for in the field sharpening.

But if your blades are really dull, they may need more work than that tool can provide. I prefer to leave that kind of sharpening to more experienced folks than myself. Once you get them properly sharpened, if you take good care of them, and if they are good quality steel, they should hold that edge, with just a little maintenance, for a long time.

Well to Start:

1. You need one/two Marks All, if two, different colors.

2. That Smiths is OK, BUT i prefer Flat Diamond "Files" Eze-Lap or DMT are the only other brands I will buy, other than One "Smith" same company....

Now, to Start:

1. Color both edges, side one & two, where ever the ~Grind~ shows.

2. Holding the Blade FLAT or Horizontal, tip the "file" (I will use the Term "file" for Diamond honing or sharpening) to what YOU determine to be that angle of Grind. Use One Long Stroke, either way, from Start to Point or reverse, Point to the Start, it matters not, but keep it the same way!