JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I good friend if mine recently told me he had a addiction to pain pills after a surgery on his knee. He wants to get into some kind of treatment. Probably a suboxone program but is concerned he won't be able to buy a gun again if he goes through with it. He lives in Washington state, any doctors or lawyers have any answers for him?

I'm no lawyer, so I won't comment at length. However, the ATF has a guide on this topic here. The fact your friend is voluntarily seeking treatment, versus being involuntarily committed, is a key point.

I'm not that friend if anyone was wandering:p.

Sorry about your friend man, drawing the line between reasonable pain and addiction after pain can be tough - that's why I keep trying to get off my pain meds sooner then I should and end up in agony at times (tonight I waited an extra grueling hour to take my pills and it's been 2 hours after the pills were taken and I am just barely hanging on by trying to stay busy but as soon as there is a lag I notice the pain straight away.

Best of luck to friend and good luck finding your answers.

I hear many good things about using kratom to get off of opiates, unfortunately the dea has announced that they are making kratom a scheduled drug at the end of this month in order to help out big pharma, like they need help...

Suboxone is just addictive as the opiates. Your friend needs to be damned sure that's the only option for him. While it's his right to own a firearm it may be a good idea for him to hold off on a purchase. Prescription drugs and the withdrawals from can really screw with ones ability to think rationally.