JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I started playing with drones a few months ago, as a hobby. it is possible to launch up my drone and view what is going on around my area on several adjoining streets in my neighborhood,while still staying directly above my property. using the camera and monitor (radio linked). I guess you could spot large movement of vehicles within a mile or so, very easily. I think Oregon has or is planning on outlawing drones for hunting.

Drones are a good way to provide real time intelligence on what is going on around you.

But unless the aforementioned drone comes equipped with Hell Fire missiles, you will have to wait until what is after you gets close enough to be sent away for a dirt nap.

Very short flight time compared to the length of time you could be under threat. Not to mention the only time its doing any good is if you are watching the monitor. SO for the 15 min flight time that's fine but what about the other hours of the day or night.

Now as an active observation post while under threat sure then having someone watch the monitor so see what the bad guys are doing for a short period of time would have some advantages.

I'm curious for those of you who know more about drones, what is the distance you can fly them? I'm sure some are obviously better than others, but in general...what, 1 mile? 5 miles? anybody have a good link to a site that you like for more info?

The transmitters for the most part are as far as you can see. If the aircraft is in the air high enough. They are FM transmitters so they do not go over hills and even buildings can be a problem. If the video image is of a high enough quality to see what position the drone is you can fly it by watching the ground. But it can be very very difficult to turn around and return unless you have something to follow.