JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am trying to get my hands on the Savage Lightweight Hunter in 6.5 Creedmoor for my general purpose hunting rifle. I was given a 6.5x55 SE for a gift, but its an old rifle and I want something I can load hotter rounds in. I have never met anyone else who hunts with any of the 6.5mm rounds. Anyone on here use such a thing, and have any experiences to share?

I too use an old Sweidsh Mauser 6.5x55. Excellent accuracy, sectional density, and penetration. I agree with above poster, it doesn't need to be loaded hot. I have no experience with the Creedmoor but it seems to be a very good long range caliber. I doubt very much you will need to load it to it's maximum or near maximum limits to get the most in long range accuracy out of it.

My 6.5 is a sporterized Mauser also, but it was produced in 1903. Its age makes me nervous to put anything in it other than softer loads. ( guess hotter means most factory loads in my case) I was originally thinking about finding another 6.5x55, but the popularization of the Creedmoor (especially in the savage lightweight hunter) is pushing me towards that route. I agree with both of you though, the 6.5x55 is a hammer! After owning one, I have always been surprised its not more prevalent.

That would be a great little hunting rifle. From what i've heard creedmoor is the way to go. Grendel gives up too much in order to work in an AR platform. I would only go Grendel if I had to use it in an AR as well as bolt gun.

Has a gunsmith checked this rifle out? Given it the OK?

If so, then spend the money and get some Norma ammo for the Swede, run it through a chrono. Then load up some handloads with RL19, or IMR4350 or H4831 to similar velocities.