JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm considering the Colt Defender in 9mm. I like the size of the pistol and the affordability of 9mm. A combination of price point, stock tritium sights, and resale value has narrowed my search to the Colt, however I would also entertain the Springfield EMP, if I could get a good price.

I have many years of experience with the 1911 government 45ACP platform and I am very comfortable with it, so the operation is not a factor. This weapon would occasionally be carried for short periods of time, occasionally see home defense duties, and probably make a couple of trips to the range every month.

I do not reload my own ammunition.

Can anyone comment on the reliability of this pistol, the durability of the aluminum frame, and whether there is any merit to the ramped vs. non-ramped barrel debate? I've heard some say the Commander size 1911 is superior in almost every way to the Defender, and the size/weight penalty is negligible.

What is your experience?

Many thanks in advance,

I don't own a Colt Defender. I have read and heard that little gal has some feed issues that can be quite frustrating. I run mostly 1911s. Never had one let me down since '68-'69 when one saved my @55. I personally like the Commander size. I have been known to carry one IWB. Great firearm. I do prefer my 1911s in 45acp however. Let us know what you decide. Best of luck to ya.