Disposal of old ammo?

Reactions
Ok, so i pulled out and looked at some old military surplus ammo that i have been storing for the past 10 years. About 1 in 4 cartridges has what appears to be corrosion? Light green stuff on the casings....perhaps 5-10% coverage on the ones that have it...is that the lead?
I separated these from the ones that still appear ok.
Are these now unsafe to use?
Should i look into disposal?
And if I do need to get rid of it... where does one dispose of old ammo like this?

Reactions
The green corrosion is from the brass, not the lead.

have had rounds for many years that are ok. As long as they have been stored in a cool dry place, you should be good to go.

OP
K
Reactions
What type of ammo? I have picked 7.62X39 up out of puddles covered in rust and shot it through my cheap ak.
That is what it is...i bought it 17 years ago when i got my SKS....fired off about 70 rounds and stored the gun and ammo ever since..in a cool dry basement.
Was just surprised when i was inventorying it recently and found a quarter of it oozing a bluish/green substance...:eek:

Reactions
That is what it is...i bought it 17 years ago when i got my SKS....fired off about 70 rounds and stored the gun and ammo ever since..in a cool dry basement.
Was just surprised when i was inventorying it recently and found a quarter of it oozing a bluish/green substance...:eek:
Oozing?? THAT might not be good. Case discoloration is one thing but if it's "oozing" a liquidy substance THAT is another thing entirely! Be careful. :s0001:

Reactions
Not sure whether your ammo is ok or not, but I've disposed of old ammo (stuff that I can't shoot anymore because I sold the gun or whatever) at my range. They'll sometimes have a bucket for duds and old stuff. I'm sure it gets picked-through, but better someone else mess with it than me.

Reactions