JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Has anyone used the Surefire Warden on their AR instead of a muzzle break?

I work at a local indoor range and get a lot of complaints from customers who end up next to a shooter using a muzzle break rather than just a flash hider or this product from Surefire. :eek:

I have seen one in action at the range and would be interested in anyone else's feedback if you have the same experience.

For $180 I'd pass. That's considerably more than the brake itself. Not to sound like a jerk, if you're around rifles in this age a brake should be expected at some point. Double up on the hearing protection. There's a very steep price for the sake of courtesy alone

I have limited experience with them.

Tried a KAW linear Comp and a "flash cone" and did not like either. Still have not given up on the idea, and might try this next.

I think for it to work you want a really aggressive multi port break, combined with a large diameter, long. Length blast forwarding device. You want to slow the air down and get it all shooting straight forward when it comes out of the device.

Well, I avoid getting next to a shooter with a side-vent muzzle brake. It isn't just the sonic emission but also the concussion and hot blast of gas in your face. It can literally blow stuff off your bench. I think there is an element of courtesy about it that's so far mostly been ignored. My guess is some ranges will start coming up with rules about it if some haven't already. Or have dedicated lanes only for shooters with muzzle brakes. Like some ranges banned the shooting of .50 BMG when some guys came trotting in with theirs.