JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Looking at buying a dedicated lower for 9mm. I see you can get them for Colt style mags of Glock style mags. I have no experience with these, but it just looked like a fun plinker. Any opinions either way as to Glock style or Colt style mags?

Personal preference myself - I'd go with Glock style mags, because I already have Glock mags - why add another magazine type that will only work in that gun? I'd like to do an AR9 sometime, and I'll probably go for a dedicated 9mm lower as opposed to using the 'sleeves' that convert a regular lower to 9mm. Again, just my preference.

I'm with etrain, I already have glock mags so I'd personally get one that would accept the mage I already have. Also, glock mags are readily available and easy to get.

I have both.

Unlike you guys I lean the other way. I have a 9MM Tavor and three AR9's that take the converted UZI mags referred to as Colt SMG style. I have a lot of those mags. The only reason why I prefer the SMG mag guns is because they have a standard. Across platforms you can mix and match parts and have a pretty reasonable chance of stuff working fine. All the bits are based on Colt SMG guns.

On the Glock mag guns you have to use a bolt carrier designed to work with Glock mags and not everyone's is the same. You are stuck with known combinations and in many cases the lower and the bolt need to be from the same manufacture. Parts at the moment are far more limited for Glock mag guns and the parts are usually more expensive than they are for the more standard SMG guns.

I bought a Glock mag one because I wanted to play with it. It looks cooler than the stick mag guns but in reality all it did was convince me that the SMG guns are just fine and I'll stick with them from here on out.

I have both.