JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I went in with the thought I was going to do a Hornady but after doing a lot of reading on various forums decided that the smallest (cheapest model) wasn't all that great compared to its peers. I ended up getting a Lyman because for only $20 more than the Hornady it could heat the solution. Since I have no experience with ultrasonic cleaners (until now) I have no idea if heating the solution makes that big of a difference in the case cleaning capabilities. However, I tend to think it must help because if this is anything like dishwashing hot water always helps.

Here's a pic of the unit with solution that has cleaned about 25 .45 cases, 50 .5.56 cases, and 300(+/-) 9mm cases in three different soaks. Initially that water was crystal clear and the stainless steel tank was clearly visible. Obviously, there is some cleaning goin' on!

DSCN3816.jpg

Here's about 300 9mm cases in the basket. I decided to try two 10 minute cycles although I am not sure if a second cycle was needed.

DSCN3817.jpg

... and a close up ....

DSCN3818.jpg

This is a close up of a .40 case that got mixed in by accident. I can attest it was your basic dirty case. Darned thing looks brand new!

DSCN3819.jpg

After eye-balling ultrasonic cleaners now for two years I am really happy that I finally got one. I will probably still tumble cases to get that little extra shine on them but I anticipate that the tumble time will be dramatically reduced.

I bought the same one you did. I have not cleaned any brass in it yet, but did a couple of handguns (torn down). I was very pleased with the results.

That Lyman looks exactly like my harbor freight special. ..
It heats as well. I just got mine a few weeks ago. ..used
I'm using the Lyman soap. 2 shots (oz.) And I fill to where your pic. shows.