JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have posted a new D-Day image commemorating that day in 1944 when our grandfathers began the task of ridding Europe of German fascism.

Why post a link here in a firearms forum? Because these days I wonder if WWII is even taught, and if so, how much is left out. Are they even allowed to mention that our servicemen used firearms? Recently I saw an article in which one principle claimed to suspend anyone who even said the word "gun" in his school.

<broken link removed>

History is important as is the legacy of that generation, especially to our youth who likely only vaguely know if it from the movies.

In memory of this "day of days" please visit the Facebook link and share it on your feed.

Thanks-

FNW

https://www.facebook.com/freedomnw

I graduated high school in 1971 and we never did cover WWI or WWII. The school was in a backwater pukehole town so it wasn't like there was any liberal influence, and I always wondered how something that important had gotten skipped. Maybe they thought we already know about it due to our families being in the war? Dunno.

I graduated high school in 1971 and we never did cover WWI or WWII. ....

I'm from the class of '83, and Vietnam was the discusssion. I had VN vets teaching me from as far back as my elementary school days. WWII was relegated to "Hogan's Heroes" re-runs, and Korea was MASH.... Sad, I know and agree.

That being said, the mood here needs to be lightened up, ( and before a mod comes along and moves this thread over to "Off Topic"):

Shaven, Cologned Grandpa Heads Into Town To Rake In D-Day Pussy | The Onion - America's Finest News Source:s0155: