JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I had a 38 special bullet not leave the barrel and now it is stuck in the barrel. This is LAX .38 special ammunition, nickel coated, 158 grain. I've fired over half the can without any issues so the ammo has shown to be generally good? I've put Fiocchi, PMC, and Norma (.357 and .38) through the gun without any problems. As far as I can tell the cylinder timing is fine and it locks up great, and even now I see no visible damage but I'm not an expert; I found some marring and maybe a chip or worn spot on the barrel but that could be because I was looking so closely at the malfunction.

http://www.taloinc.com/ruger-firearms/wiley-clapp-gp100-1752 Here is the gun's product page.

If it matters, it was pretty cold today in the mountains, it was snowing. I clean the gun after every outing -- it was not dirty!

I'm hoping someone can tell me what could have possibly happened here for a bullet to not exit the barrel. If it was simply an undercharged round, the bullet would presumably still leave the barrel and hit low. I tried to ram a cleaning rod in there with no luck, the bullet is lodged tight.

Thanks for any help.

IMG_20220226_141748.jpg IMG_20220226_141813.jpg IMG_20220226_141819.jpg

I have had to pound two rounds through with a wooden dowel from a low powder round before. Contact LAX for sure since this is a quality control issue that could cause serious damage if say you were to fire another round.