JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So i had my CHL class for Oregon a few weeks ago and went in to the sheriffs office and am now waiting for my card in the mail. Now when i had my class i remember my instructor saying something (I cant remember the whole conversation so i'm trying to make sure).

Is it illegal to cross state borders with a loaded concealed handgun if you have a permit in both states? I remember it being mentioned it was a federal law but it sounded totally nuts to me. I have not found any information about it online so i thought to ask here.

I would have taken the Utah option for my class but i'm a former resident of Washington and already had my permit for the state. So figured i would be cheap since i have left the 2 states only a handful of times in my life.

So - I forget (been a long time since my WA state permit expired); do you have to notify WA state when you move with regards to your permit? You do with Oregon.

I haven't read anything about the validity of the permit after moving from one state to another, but I would have to wonder if there is an impact?

I would have taken the Utah option for my class but i'm a former resident of Washington and already had my permit for the state. So figured i would be cheap since i have left the 2 states only a handful of times in my life.
Better check whether your Washington permit is still valid after you've moved to a different state. You might find yourself in hot water.

So - I forget (been a long time since my WA state permit expired); do you have to notify WA state when you move with regards to your permit? You do with Oregon.

I haven't read anything about the validity of the permit after moving from one state to another, but I would have to wonder if there is an impact?