JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Can anyone suggest me an area or two that would be good for learning to call coyotes? I am self-teaching myself how to call and really dont' know know any good areas (or how to call for that matter). I live in Portland so somewhere within a two hour drive would be good, preferably somewhere I can set up a camp for the weekend or something. I only have a Scion hatchback so I am limited to roads that aren't too hard to travel. It's tough to get into this type of stuff when you have no friends or family that do it! If anyone feels so inclined to teach me I am a good listener and student :s0114: Thanks in advance for any suggestions you might have.

Just go out into the woods you know best and look for dog crap and coyote tracks in the mud. They are EVERYWHERE. . . you don't need someone to tell you an area. They are even in Portland.

look for dog crap and coyote tracks in the mud.
AND once you find the above look for an area you can comfortably hunker down in, yet still safely control your rifle and ensure you have a good field of view and safe backstop. Full camo is essential, keep upwind, scent helps and learn to properly 'call' with your predator call. Get a good book or a video on predator calling. I would recommend you start by just going out and practicing calling and don't even think about any shooting at first. See if you can even call anything in. Calling is an art combined with some natural animal science and understanding the coyotes behavior. I have been doing this for a long time and still don't have it all down.

Find a good back drop. Don't be on the skyline. Make sure bushes are behind you. Wear camo. Stay STILL. Move your eyes, not your head. Make sure the first shot is perfect, cause the second one is a luck shot.