JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Im new to the whole AR thing. I have AK's but the whole AR rifles seem to confuse me. Maybe you guys can answer a couple of questions I have.

First off is what is the difference between a AR-15 and a M4? Second, what is "twist rate"?

A M4 is a version of the AR-15. It typically refers to two features. An M4 AR15 has a 16" barrel or a specific medium profile that also has a section for attaching a grenade launcher. It also has feed ramps that are both in the chamber AND in the upper receiver. (The are longer and promote better feeding). The twist rate applies to the rifling on the inside of the barrel. It describes how tight the spiral is in terms of travel (down the barrel) per full twist.

The AR-15 is basically the civilian model of the M-16. The M4 is the Carbine model that sports the 16" barrel with a cut out in the barrel to mount the M203 launcher, bayonet lug, and collapsable stock.

A 1:9 twist rate is desirable for 55gr bullets, 1:8, and 1:7 allow for heavy bullets to be stabilized, 1:7 twist rates might have difficulty stabilizing lighter rounds such as 50gr hollow points.

OK. Im starting to understand now. I ordered my first AR today and was reading the info and didnt understand the 1x10 twist rate.

Disregard what I said about twist rates. That data was for the standard 5.56mm AR round.

You got a 7.62x39mm which is the same round as the AK47 and SKS rifles. It is a good round, not as inherently accurate as the 5.56 (.223), but it has much more knockdown power.