JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have zero experience with AR's and am considering buying my first one. Can someone explain the difference (in layman's terms) between piston vs direct impingement? I am not a tinkerer or a gunsmith and would probably leave whatever I buy in stock condition. I am hearing good things about Ruger's new AR, the direct impingement model, and I am wondering if this would be a good, reliable shooter out of the box for an AR newbie.

For the price I dont think you can do any better. Not exactly sure what they are selling at as I have not seen one in a retail store yet.

Quick description:

The original AR-15 (and subsiquent M-16, M4, etc) were all direct impingement. The gas created by the discharge of the round hits the bolt directly using a buffer tube in the stock which assists with the bolt being cycled. Yes I'm glazing over a lot of details, but that is the short of it.

The piston systems are more like the AK-47 systems. Basically the gas push on a piston which cycles the bolt, which is above the barrel and doesn't have any recoil operation going on in the butt stock.

As for the new Ruger AR whic his being sold in stores like Big 5 and the like, I haven't handled one in person. There have been a few decent reviews of them recently, I think Gun Tests gave them a B+ or something. So they most likely are decent introduction ARs.

If you can find one I think the Ruger would be a fine choice. Its small bucks (for an AR) and I think is a good representation of a M4gery. It should be fun to shoot and hold its value well, I cant see how you could go wrong ;)

Direct impingement: gas blows up from the barrel through the gas block into the gas tube, which shunts hot, high pressure gas back into the action, which forces your bolt carrier back to load another around.