JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello,

I am a resident of Oregon and reside in lane county. I recently got my CHL and have been carrying daily for the duration, nearly a year. Occasionally in the course of my job, it is necessary for me to pop in to the Lane County Sheriffs Office for a moment. I do not work for the government in any way.

I understand from what I have read that due to the sheriffs office being a state public building, under ORS 166.370 (which they site on their front door banning firearms/weapons inside) that this does not apply to CHL holders. The tricky part is, the Lane County sheriff's office has a separate entrance, but is still connected to a Lane County circuit court building. You can travel through the sheriffs office into the circuit court areas.

In reading the ORS, I'm stuck on this. The whole court building ban in the writing of the statutes looks a little sketch at best, in regard to my reading of it and understanding of the flow of subsections and exceptions it looks to me like the part referring to the court ban doesn't apply to CHL holders. And of course when you get your CHL card here now it comes with a list of prohibited places to carry that some items are obviously not true when reviewing the laws.

Any ideas on the Sherriffs portion at least? I don't ever need to go into court buildings but the sheriffs office is going to happen from time to time.

I'd ask the Sheriff or anyone else there that could potentially cuff you, if you did the wrong thing.
So no metal detectors to pass through, eh ?