JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I drive for a living in a company vehicle around town.
Everyday I am out and about, driving in areas I don't know, including some of the worst areas in the Portland area.
They have it in their policy, that you may not be armed in any fashion, or face termination, and be arrested for "Criminal Trespass". This extends to anything, especially firearms, mace, tasers, knives (unless particular to a work purpose, such as a leatherman), batons, pretty much anything you could possibly use to defend yourself.
I have had issues where people have approached me and have gotten violent with me to a point where I had the legal right to defend myself. I have had one of them draw a gun on me, I was able to talk my way out of it, but it made me **** bricks.
I brought this up to the company and their response has just been....RUN....and call your supervisor, at least you weren't seriously injured. No you can't press charges, it will look bad for our PR, we'll take cared of it (which they never do.)

Is there anything I can do, or that we can do to move through legislation that will allow employees that are legally allowed to carry a method of defense at work, especially at a job where you are prone to going into unsafe situations and areas.

Also, I rarely come on company property, most of the time I'm in a company vehicle which is technically company property, but I'm out in public.

Right now the employer has the right to make the rules. Most of the larger companies have similar rules. Of course you certainly have the right to sue them if they don't protect you and you become injured.