JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
My chicken coop will be constructed about a week from today. I live at 4,600 feet in southern Oregon, 40 miles NE of K. Falls. What kind of chickens do I want and why? My goal as of right now is to produce eggs for myself, wife and 10 year old son. We are not yet looking to produce meat chickens, so a rooster is not needed at the moment. We will probably add a rooster down the road to produce meat or more egg laying chickens for barter or sale at a market. The coop will be plenty large enough and will have a spate area to expand chickens or add rabbits or some other long term regenerating protein source.

Are certain chickens better for my area? Do certain chickens produce more/better eggs? I am new to the chicken world and appreciate all opinions. I have my coop setup figured out and am making quite a nice one. Doing it right one time beats the hell out of constant repairs. Thanks for the help.

I'd like to give you a well researched opinion, I don't have one. The only thing I can say is when we lived in Wenatchee, Washington when I was about 11 or 12, we went to a chicken farm and bought a ton of chickens for like 25 cents each :s0114: California White chickens that produced a ton of eggs.

I was really surprised that Portland allows three chickens w/o a permit. I am sure that will change as they attempt to make those and victory gardens illegal.

Can't advise you on what chickens to get, I am absolutely clueless on the subject. Sure sounds like a smart move though, good luck.

I was really surprised that Portland allows three chickens w/o a permit. I am sure that will change as they attempt to make those and victory gardens illegal.

Can't advise you on what chickens to get, I am absolutely clueless on the subject. Sure sounds like a smart move though, good luck.