JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
i just bought a new 2018 Silverado 1500 that has a solid rear window. I've ordered a canopy that will be here in 3-4 weeks and would like to have a rear slider installed before. I don't care if it's a manual or powered unit. I seem to be striking out and if anyone has done this before or could steer me in the right direction I'd greatly appreciate it!

im a technician at capitol chev here in salem, i can ask around. i cant say we've ever retro fitted one here either. im un certain if a factory slider will fit a non factory slider.

either way, i believe a glass or body shop will need to install the window. we send our windshield and stationary glass work to our body shop or have state auto glass do it as ita usually held in and re-installed with urethane.

I just called the canopy shop and they were able to locate one, after many calls reminding them that they were even looking, lol. $765 installed (ouch) for a non powered unit. As a side note, I swear just getting a sales person to even call you back has been a real struggle.

Thought that I remembered the forum for GM trucks that had a couple of threads on replacing the stock rear window with a powered window.. Evidently the windows from 2014-2018 are the same according to the Forum. I like the idea but don't know that I would go to all of the work at this time in my life. Hope that this helps: Rear Sliding Window

only thing im uncerain of is getting the power window to work.

the body control module is configured per VIN# if the truck doesnt have that option from the factory, theres no way i know of to program it to work unless its bought out of the GM accessory catalog.