JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Just lookin for some opinions on Charles Daly shotguns, specifically the field model, been lookin at pump shotguns for home defense and some general fun. The local Big 5 has them on sale for 199.99, but I'm wondering if it's a waste when there's mossbergs and remingtons to be had for a little more. Thanks for any help

Justin

The last Charles Daly firearms I saw were some 1911's that were put together with Phillipine frames. Functional, but rough. I have no experience with their shotguns, but for the little difference in price you can't go wrong with Mossberg or Remington and there are tons of accessories for them.

I have a CD SP Tactical Shotgun. I've probably got 4-500 rounds of every type of ammo you can imagine through it, without a single issue. Very solid shotgun. Seems to be very little wear on any of the parts when stripped for cleaning also.
I paid $425 out the door for it, and feel it's worth what I paid.

Only a couple of small drawbacks IMHO.

1. Charles Daly went out of business a while back, and I'm not sure who has taken over service for them.

2. Cant buy all the extra goodies you can for a Remington or Mossberg.
In my case that's a good thing. All I need is another gun that I can dump lots of money into:s0114:

If I had it to do again, I'd be very tempted to buy a Rem. or Mossberg. Not because the CD isn't a great gun, but because of the plentiful parts(and a company that is still up and running).

Hope this helps in your decision.

B

I purchased a CD for my mom in December 08. I brought it to her place and told her i had just got it and didn't want to leave it in my truck because i had more Christmas shopping to do. (Yes, i lied to my mom!)

Long story short, she knows its her shotgun. She has shot it, knows how to handle it and is comfortable with it.