JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm fairly new to CC and just recently got my first IWB holster (stealthgear) for my ruger lc9s pro. I've learned a little about gun belts and can see the benefit for full sized, steel framed pistols but right now I'm using a regular belt and it seems OK to me. I've had trouble finding info on how beneficial gun belts are for small polymer framed pistols. If I buy a true gun belt will I say "wow, it really DOES make a difference"? And if so, specifically how will it make a difference?

Gun belts are much stiffer and dont give or bend as much. The makes holstering and drawing much faster, more consistent, and safer. Any part of your carry system that gives way can result in snags or inconsistent draws.

Durability is also a plus. Heavier, thicker, stiffer belts dont warp as wad in the long hall.

Some prefer leather, I prefer reinforced nylon rigger/training belts because I can mainting the correct tightness throughout the length of the belt rather than just the holes.

Thanks for the input. I get all that from what I've read but my question is specifically with regard to small, light pistols. To my knowledge, I'm not experiencing sagging or bending and I haven't noticed any issues while practicing my drawing that make me think a better belt would make it any better. Now of course that very well could be (and likely is) just my ignorance but in my state of ignorance I'm wondering if the benefit of a gun belt for big, heavy guns largely disappears for small, light guns, i.e. the larger/heavier the gun, the more important it is, and the smaller/lighter it is the less important it is. If that's not true, why do I not seem to have any problems with my regular belt?