JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So, I'd like to add a CB to the wagon, as I spend a fair amount of time on logging roads and other spots off the beaten path. I found a package to met the needs of off roading, but the range left me wanting. I'm moving across the country this summer, and would like to have something with some decent range. It looks like I can get about 7 miles at most, but I don't know much about any of this. My main reason for wanting range is to have coms between family while traveling - pre and post SHTF. Anyone have any recommendations? I've read some reviews of various equipment, but much of it is over my head, as I have no experience with it.

Well, CB is never going to cut it. You're locked in with a max of 4W, you could get a half wave center fed dipole antenna (11m) and then stick it vertically off your rear bumper, however if you put a flag on top of it, your family on the other side of the country will have a better chance of seeing the flag than hearing you on the radio.

If you're really serious about long range comms, there are only a few options, first is digital store and forward satellite communications (amateur radio) and high frequency (3-30mhz) which again is an amateur radio thing. I have an all mode 10m rig in my car with a big top loaded whip antenna running about 40W and I can occasionally talk to australia, japan, alaska, and texas. But this radio is transmitting at 10x the power a CB is allowed to transmit at, and I have 3db of gain in my antenna, which means I have and ERP of 80w.