JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a rifle in each of these chamberings. I feel there is some overlap between the 243 and .22-250, with the .243 being much more versatile. I also feel there is a lot of overlap between the .243 and the .25-06, with the .243 having cheaper ammo, more factory load options (important until I get back into reloading), and covers a lot of the bases covered by the .25-06.

My intended uses for rifles are shooting for fun, currently out to around 300 yards, but hoping to start reaching out to 500-600 once I get better optics; and hunting/shooting anything between nutria, coyotes, pronghorn, blacktail, and elk. Out of all of that, elk hunting is where the .25-06 outdoes the .243, but I'm not sure I would want to take a shot on one beyond 200 yards with the .25-06. Maybe I'm selling it short, but I'm new to elk hunting and would rather "overdo" it than under.

So, I'm definitely keeping the .243. I don't see what the .22-250 does for me that the .243 can't. The .243 also almost takes the place of the .25-06 in my scenario. I'm contemplating selling both the .22-250 and the .25-06, and getting a 300 win mag or 7mm mag. But, I would like to hear the input of others to make sure there isn't something important I'm overlooking.

Last Edited: