carry class certificate expiration

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by nwwoodsman, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. nwwoodsman

    nwwoodsman
    Vernonia
    Well-Known Member 2015 Volunteer

    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    I took my concealed carry class in October of 2011. The guy running the class signed and date stamped my card. I put off getting my CWP for a couple of reason. Figured it make it easier to confiscate firearms, but after realizing Obama would never go after our guns and knowing that all they'd have to do to find out if I own firearms is to track my internet history that I should go ahead and get it. My certificate is stamped October 2011. Can I still take it into the Sheriffs department to get my CWP or do I have to take another class?
     
  2. Bowtie

    Bowtie
    Oregon City
    Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have yet to hear of a cert expiring, nor seen anything in the laws that indicate that it has to be a "current" cert, they only list who has to teach the class.
     
    nwwoodsman and (deleted member) like this.
  3. duane black

    duane black
    Washington
    Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    411
    We inquired about this with Multnomah. Wife and I have training certificates from 2005. They are fine with it. I took the MD online class as well just for a backup certificate. Its free, easy and issued by a LE agency. Multnomah will also accept it so I'm told.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. Misterbill

    Misterbill
    Yakima County, Washington
    New Member

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    In Oregon I'm unaware of any issue with "expired" training certs.

    In Mass. and lots of other gun-unfriendly states, individual Chiefs of Police basically make up their own criteria as they go along, and requiring you to get a new certificate every time you renew your license is common. Particularly when you have to get a discretionary permit just to own ANY pistol. (Still waiting for the lawsuit post-Heller, but it hasn't yet come up.)
     
  5. CatCow

    CatCow
    Portland, OR
    Active Member

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    67
    Mine was a few years old by the time I took it in to them. LOL. I imagine if it's getting really old they may complain about it, but I've never heard of anything that specifies that it has to be recent.
     
  6. Phycha

    Phycha
    Milwaukie
    New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well I'll test this out. My appointment is on March 1st and the cert is dated May 18, 2002. 11 years isn't that long right? really shouldn't have put it off so long.
     
  7. accessbob

    accessbob
    Molalla, OR
    2A Supporter

    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    752
    Oregon doesn't have an expiration. Utah does. I missed out on my Utah one. Waited too long. Now if I want it I have to take the class again.
     
  8. RicInOR

    RicInOR
    Washington County
    Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    5,452
    Take an On-Line course and print out your certificate.

    For everyone who carries, there is a responsibility to stay up to date on the law.
    It won't hurt to review the material.

    If you need further details, check with OFF --> the link is on the side bar.
    Drop about $15 and buy their book.
     

Share This Page