JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey guys -

I'm new to the AR world although I do have general knowledge of the guns, DI vs gas piston, etc, etc... Well, I have finally bit the bullet and I've decided to get one. I will be going with a Bushmaster primarily due to special incentive pricing through my work (that I am very thankful for!) but I want to know more about the pro's/con's between the three sizes offered. I like the MOE guns and they have an MOE gun in carbine, mid length and their Dissipator (full?) size. Does one tend to be more/less reliable than another? It seems to me that the longer the gas tube the less pressure and less heat there would be on your bolt. Is that so, does it make a difference? Any help would be appreciated! Thank you -

Tim

If you go with a 16" barrel, I suggest a middy length gas-tube. The carbine length gas-tube is tuned for a 14.5" barrel and some say its harsher on the bolt, buffer, etc. I own carbine, middy, and full length AR's and I don't really notice any difference in the recoil and operation, but IMHO the middy looks more proportional on the 16" barrel with the same amount sticking out past the hand guards as the full length 20" barrel. You also get a longer sight radius with the middy which helps with accuracy.

The 16" barrel w/carbine length looks a tab bit wonky to my ascetic sensibilities, plus you can't mount a bayonet to it (and that is sooo important these days... LOL) unless you get a $200 SBR tax stamp from the BATFE, cut it down to 14.5", or permanently pin/weld/braze a muzzle device to bring it to 16" OAL . ;)

Hope that helps!

I've only had/shot carbines. I'm workin on some builds and am in need of 3 midlength gastubes to finish. The usual listied benefits are reliability, softer shooting, etc. I figure it can't hurt other than the pain of finding some gas tubes