JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I looked through The Ultimate Survival Medicine Guide. It's written by an MD. I'm going to describe some of the content of the book, but I am not a doctor or even in the medical field, so I am not qualified to pass any judgment on the contents other than my impressions on the scope of the book ("It seems to me").

The author makes it clear that this book is for guidance in emergency situations where qualified medical care is not available.

It seems to me that this book is extremely comprehensive and well-written. I found it intimidating to contemplate trying to implement many of the procedures in this book. In some cases I fear that emergency care might need to be performed at a faster pace than I could do it. In many cases care or treatment is prescribed for illnesses or other maladies that I don't know how I would be able to diagnose in the first place, but I'm sure there are plenty of people here who can. I'm glad I bought it.

Chapter II. Responsibilities of the group Medic; skills; supplies; natural remedies, etc.
Chapter III. Ticks, dental care, respiratory infections, food- and water-borne illness, dehydration.
Chapter IV. Infections including appendicitis, urinary tract, hepatitis, fungal, cellulitis, mosquito-borne.
Chapter V. Environmental factors including heat, cold, altitude, wildfire, allergies.
Chapter VI. Soft tissue injuries, including wounds, burns, bites, stings, head injuries, sprains, dislocations, fractures, amputation.
Chapter VII. Chronic problems, including thyroid, diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, seizure, kidney stones.
Chapter VIII. CPR, headache, eye issues, nosebleeds, earache, hemorrhoids, birth delivery.

Last Edited:
This chapter gets a separate post because it is more relevant to this thread.