JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Can Oregon Owners Associations make gun laws, like no hunting or fishing or discharging firearms?
“Except as expressly authorized by state statute, the authority to regulate in any matter whatsoever the sale, acquisition, transfer, ownership, possession, storage, transportation or use of firearms or any element relating to firearms and components thereof, including ammunition, is vested solely in the Legislative Assembly.”

No, as a home owners association they cannot, in my opinion, create bylaws restricting a Constitutionally guaranteed right. That said, it does not prevent them from including it in an agreement that you are required to sign in order to purchase a home in a given sub-division. I would think, though that that would somehow come under the fair housing laws.

I am not a lawyer, but I am only a few blocks from a Holiday Inn. It would make for an interesting challenge in court. Denied the right to purchase a home because you exercise a Constitutionally provided right to bear arms.

:):):)
I can see all H breaking loose on this one. Stay calm folks :)
Keep your sight alignment tight.

If they receive government funding in any way shape or form, they can not restrict rights. As a bonus, you cannot legally sign your rights away, that's why they're called rights and not privileges. So even if you signed an agreement stating you would not have firearms, they cannot legally enforce it. And if they tried to get the authorities to confiscate them, they'd be subject to eminent domain and would therefore have to give fair market value. So add that to the impending lawsuit, it would yield quite the return.

Well, can I prevent hunting, fishing and the discharge of a firearm on my property?