JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I need a caliper for reloading, as I am just starting out. I am at a bit of a loss on what to get. I don't want to go with a cheap one that will fail shortly after getting it, but at the same time what is overkill? I know I do want to go with a digital one. Any and all help is greatly appreciated!!!

Try Craigslist, I see them listed all the time for cheap. I have a Harbor Freight model that I use and it has performed well so far, but I have a Mitutoyo to check it against.

I am a machinist......so my opinion is biased, but I would look up MSC and see what they have on sale. I would look at Fowler or SPI brand calipers, as they are on the lower end of decent machinist tools, but should be plenty good for reloading.

I am a machinist......so my opinion is biased, but I would look up MSC and see what they have on sale. I would look at Fowler or SPI brand calipers, as they are on the lower end of decent machinist tools, but should be plenty good for reloading.

Thank you! I was hoping a machinist or someone of the like would chime in. I'll be checking those out now!!

For reloading RCBS sells a real nice plastic dial caliper. I used mine for years to make handmade folding knives with tolerances getting close to .0005".

I now use a 6" digital I bought at Harbor Frieght with a coupon from the paper for less then 10 bucks. And for reloading it is more then accurate enough reading to .0005" heck I started my reloading using a pass through frame (like they use to gauge crabs when you catch them) I'm sure it wasn't accurate to .005" and I never had a problem

I have NSK and Mitutoyo dial calipers. I like dials because I never deal with a dead battery!