Bushmaster

Reactions
Question: I have an as-new Bushmaster that I set up years ago for varmint shooting with a Bauch and Lomb 10x40 scope, bipod etc.. but never used it. It's a really heavy rifle and seems to me not good for much of anything but long-range targets.(places to shoot long range are scarce around my area). I'm considering whether or not to strip it down to it's receivers and build it back as a lighter weight close range rifle. Is there anything about this rifle that would say "STOP...don't do it"?

Thanks

Alexx1401

Reactions
Question: I have an as-new Bushmaster that I set up years ago for varmint shooting with a Bauch and Lomb 10x40 scope, bipod etc.. but never used it. It's a really heavy rifle and seems to me not good for much of anything but long-range targets.(places to shoot long range are scarce around my area). I'm considering whether or not to strip it down to it's receivers and build it back as a lighter weight close range rifle. Is there anything about this rifle that would say "STOP...don't do it"?

Thanks
No it's not anything special but, AR's are in short supply right now. The parts to do a new build are also getting hard to find with this damn panic. So shop around see if you can find what you want at a price you will pay. You can always put the rifle back to what it is now. Nice thing about AR's, they are like erector sets we had when I was a kid :D

sithc

Reactions
Comes down to "overall" cost. How much are you willing to spend on it?
As long as it stays w/ 16" barrel and as a rifle build, then should be good to go. Just can't convert it to a AR pistol.

I was in the same dilemma with my original Sig 556 M400 AR Pistol. I started swapping out the ugly bulky Sig brace with a KAK blade and a LAW Folder w/ a 2.5x prism scope. It was at 8 lbs w/ scope, which is heavy for an AR, let alone a pistol variant.

So I recently tried to lighten it up...
- Changed out the heavy 11" barrel with a 10" light-weight pencil barrel