Bushmaster surprise!!!

Messages
15,883
Reactions
41,783
This an e-mail I sent to the person in Texas whom I bought the B.M. XM15 ES2 & the Adams Arms piston kit from the internet:

******** Ijust got back from my gunsmith, he said the Adams Arms piston kit that you sold me will not work on the Bushmaster XM15 ES2 because the flash hider is welded on the 14.5" 14.5" barrel!!! Did you have any knowledge of this before you sold it to me? Kinda bummed out, I know I can sell the kit, but bummed none the less. Jim Sr.

I know that being a buyer, I should have checked it B-4 buying but he included it with the rifle (saying it was for this exact rifle, I should have had him install it) I'm not a gunsmith or a black rifle specialist.
I hope it will fit on the Olympic Arms AR that is due to arrive next week.
 
Messages
1,527
Reactions
1,741
If the FH were not welded or at the very least pinned it would be an NFA item. So...are you upset that he sold you a legal upper receiver vs committing a felony? How did you expect him to send it? It's not the seller's responsibility to know gun laws for you.
 
OP
Caveman Jim
Messages
15,883
Reactions
41,783
If the FH were not welded or at the very least pinned it would be an NFA item. So...are you upset that he sold you a legal upper receiver vs committing a felony? How did you expect him to send it? It's not the seller's responsibility to know gun laws for you.
Not at all, I'm upset that he sold me something that was not going to work on the rifle he sold me. It's not about the gun laws man, it's about sellers taking advantage of a customers, geese man, I hope you don't think everyone else but you is a dolt!!!
 

ZigZagZeke

Messages
5,240
Reactions
12,265
From the kit web page:

Also, at present there is only a one-piece clamping gas block, so if the barrel that the kit will be used on is going to require a permanent muzzle device to meet NFA regs, this will have to be planned and accounted for prior to installation beginning.
Can the FH be removed long enough to get the gas block on the barrel?
 
Messages
1,527
Reactions
1,741
Not at all, I'm upset that he sold me something that was not going to work on the rifle he sold me. It's not about the gun laws man, it's about sellers taking advantage of a customers, geese man, I hope you don't think everyone else but you is a dolt!!!
I think you not realizing you couldn't buy a rifle with a 14.5" barrel without a permanent muzzle attachment is being recklessly uniformed. I really don't think the seller did anything wrong. You ordered the products. If it was clear the rifle had a 14.5" barrel then you are at fault. It's not his job to nanny you. Perhaps you should speak to Obama about sponsoring legislation to nanny purchases too.
 
OP
Caveman Jim
Messages
15,883
Reactions
41,783
Recieved a reply from the seller: That I was not aware of as I bought the two together. If you want to send me the kit back I will send you $100 since that was the selling agreement. If you want to sell it, you can probably get more as those go between $150-200. Sorry about the mistake. I guess I didn't research it enough.

To all that have replied to this:

It was not an attempt at gaining sympathy from anyone.
I knew that I didn't gather enough information on the rifle, said piston kit and the instillation process.
I intended to let others know to be up on the specs & options of firearms they are purchasing off the internet. Not everyone is a gunsmith or a wantabe!!!
I did not want to get brow beat by those who are the all knowing & everyone else is just a dolt. Pretty shallow in my view.
FYI, you should use PM's to make your snotty points & remarks.
 
Messages
357
Reactions
204
Recieved a reply from the seller: That I was not aware of as I bought the two together. If you want to send me the kit back I will send you $100 since that was the selling agreement. If you want to sell it, you can probably get more as those go between $150-200. Sorry about the mistake. I guess I didn't research it enough.

To all that have replied to this:

It was not an attempt at gaining sympathy from anyone.
I knew that I didn't gather enough information on the rifle, said piston kit and the instillation process.
I intended to let others know to be up on the specs & options of firearms they are purchasing off the internet. Not everyone is a gunsmith or a wantabe!!!
I did not want to get brow beat by those who are the all knowing & everyone else is just a dolt. Pretty shallow in my view.
FYI, you should use PM's to make your snotty points & remarks.
Jim, you should know not to ask firearms related questions on a firearm site. It makes you look stupid.:s0114:
 
OP
Caveman Jim
Messages
15,883
Reactions
41,783
titsonritze, correct, he is a newby builder trying to make big in this crazy game. Will have to study up on some stuff so next time I'll be able to cry BS...

Blaylocke, I sure found out quickly what "not to do" on a firearm site.
 
Last edited:

UPCOMING EVENTS

Free Firearms Safety Course Webinar (I-1639 Compliant)
Virtual Webinar (Zoom). Registration Link in the course description.
Washington, USA
Rimfire Challenge Feb 13th @ DRRC
Douglas Ridge Rifle Club
27787 OR-224, Eagle Creek, OR 97022, USA
Project Appleseed
Douglas Ridge Rifle Club
27787 OR-224, Eagle Creek, OR 97022, USA
Albany Rifle & Pistol Club (ARPC) Gun Show
Linn County Expo Center
3700 Knox Butte Rd E, Albany, OR 97322, USA

LATEST RESOURCE REVIEWS

  • Paul A Martin Historical Guns
    5.00 star(s)
    Great shop, selection and atmosphere
    One of the better firearm shop experiences I’ve had, Paul is very patient and helpful. Definitely going to be a repeat customer even though it’s...
  • Adaptive Firing Solutions
    5.00 star(s)
    Great Service! A+
    Steve is a very nice guy and very easy to work with. I've done business with him a few times and will continue to.
  • Adaptive Firing Solutions
    5.00 star(s)
    Great guy!
    Steve is a great guy to deal with!
  • HighLine Firearms
    5.00 star(s)
    Nice Home Shop
    Had what I wanted at a good price. Messaged me when in stock.
  • Adaptive Firing Solutions
    5.00 star(s)
    Excellent Service
    Steve is an excellent guy to deal with. After looking at some Form 4 items at another dealer who didnt seem interested in my money, i emailed...
Top Bottom