JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am fairly new to reloading, done about 1000 rounds total in .380, 9mm and .45acp. I am on my second pound of Bullseye because its all I have used. I have seen several comments about it burning dirty. I am wanting to experiment with something else. I would like to use one powder for all these calibers. I sure some of you on here know way more than I do. What would you suggest?

For the calibers you mentioned I would personally use Power Pistol. I buy it by the 4# jug for my 9mm loads. It's suitable for the .380 and .45acp as well. Another powder from the same company is Unique. Many call it the universal pistol powder but my previous experience has been that it too is a little dirty. The Power Pistol is very clean in my 9mm's which range from 3.5" to 4.25" for barrels.

Both Unique and Power Pistol are usually stocked just about everywhere that is truly a "Reloading Supply Retailer".

A buddy who used to shoot competitively turned me on to Winchester 231. Pretty clean and shoots nice. I've used it in .45ACP, .38 Special and .357 Magnum. Haven't tried it in 9mm but my buddy has shot thousands and thousnds of them with this powder. No idea about .380.

Unique is a better powder than Bullseye for a new reloader as it's more difficult to "double-charge"-the common blow up recipie for pistols.
New lots of Unique burn much cleaner than the old stuff, too!

Unique is a better powder than Bullseye for a new reloader as it's more difficult to "double-charge"-the common blow up recipie for pistols.