Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Bullet drop difference .223

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by sterzenbach, Sep 24, 2015.

1. sterzenbach

sterzenbach Bend Oregon Active Member

Hey guys im new to using commercial .223/556 ammo. I finally suckered into an ar, 16in bull barrel match trigger ect.
    Ive been shooting American eagle 556 to sight in and play a bit these last few weeks. I got around to playing with loads, nosler 64gr bonded with cfe223 25.80 charge cci SRP. My load is spot on, real tight group at 100 yards, and just barely barely craters the primer. You really have to study it to see.

95% of my shooting over the years has been with my own loads, very little commercial. I did alot of .223 for my remington 700, and I load .308 all day for a variety of rifles.
    My Issue is consistently my load is shooting center with the commercial ammo 556 62gr, but about 12in lower. Is this normal for the hotter 556 or what? Both give me tight groups just a different location on paper.
    Any input would be greatly appreciated.

2. rick benjamin

rick benjamin USA, Or, Damascus Secure the drama Silver Supporter 2016 Volunteer

2506 and orygun like this.
  3. orygun

orygun West Linn Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

Good advice. Just because a load is reaching maximum pressure (or higher) does not mean it's fast...
    Cratering primers, even slightly, is likely a sign of high pressures. So, unless your gun has a sloppy firing pin to bolt face fit, you're likely past where you want to be, pressure wise, in that gun.
    My bubblegum-umption is that your handload isn't travelling as fast as the factory load, but only a chronograph will confirm.