JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey guys im new to using commercial .223/556 ammo. I finally suckered into an ar, 16in bull barrel match trigger ect.
Ive been shooting American eagle 556 to sight in and play a bit these last few weeks. I got around to playing with loads, nosler 64gr bonded with cfe223 25.80 charge cci SRP. My load is spot on, real tight group at 100 yards, and just barely barely craters the primer. You really have to study it to see.

95% of my shooting over the years has been with my own loads, very little commercial. I did alot of .223 for my remington 700, and I load .308 all day for a variety of rifles.
My Issue is consistently my load is shooting center with the commercial ammo 556 62gr, but about 12in lower. Is this normal for the hotter 556 or what? Both give me tight groups just a different location on paper.
Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Good advice. Just because a load is reaching maximum pressure (or higher) does not mean it's fast...
Cratering primers, even slightly, is likely a sign of high pressures. So, unless your gun has a sloppy firing pin to bolt face fit, you're likely past where you want to be, pressure wise, in that gun.
My bubblegum-umption is that your handload isn't travelling as fast as the factory load, but only a chronograph will confirm.
Ballistics is a goofy science. One thing that can happen in a handgun, which isn't as likely with a rifle, is that a faster bullet can strike the target lower than a slower bullet. This is because of less barrel time of the faster bullet. The lighter bullet exits the barrel before the gun has recoiled as much it will with a bullet that takes longer to exit.
I remember thinking that my handloads were making a certain FPS because the manual said so. When I got a chronograph I learned how wrong I was...

When speed is unknown.....