JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Are the 5 gallon plastic buckets with the snap on lids good enough for inside storage? The lids have a rubber gasket. I wouldn't trust them to be water tight, just little pest proof.
Yes, fairly. If it has a gasket then yes most insects wont go to that much trouble to push through.
If its just a plastic lid without a seal, Ive seen all kinds of stuff sneak into them.

(BTW, Im a pest control technician so Ive seen neary everything.. But I didnt stay at a Holiday Inn so take my advice with a grain of salt.)

What Id be more concerned about is mold.
Even if its air tight the oxygen in the containers contains moisuture and bacteria particles. A desiccant or a purging gas and mylar bag are suggested for long term storage.

Sterile (new) paint cans make GREAT containers and yeild smaller portions should you need to crack them open. Lessening your likelihood of taining the entire 5g food-store with constant reopening.

When I go fishin, I always bring one for the wife because she hates peeing in a coffee can.........................:D
I have a toilet seat that fits on a bucket that I keep on the boat just for the same reason. :confused: I went with a guy on another boat and he had a piece of pvc pipe for the guys so they wouldn't pee all over the side of the boat!

I would only use new buckets with a "2" in the triangle stamp when storing food or water.

List the contents and the exp dates on the outside so you can inventory without breaking the seal.

I would only use new buckets with a "2" in the triangle stamp when storing food or water.

List the contents and the exp dates on the outside so you can inventory without breaking the seal.
M b

Most Jane the 2 but a couple have a 5 in the triangle. Are they good for anything?