JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Before I start this review, I should preface it by mentioning a few things. Firstly, I am no expert in shooting, nor reviewing. Rather, I am a recreational shooter who enjoys well-made material, quality, and craftsmanship. Before I purchase an item, I spend countless hours researching products, surfing through reviews in order to purchase the best possible item. Secondly, I am in no way affiliated with Thor Targets. I simply would like to pass on my experience to others.

My first experience with Thor Targets came from the DPSST Academy in Salem, OR. At the end of my training there, I was given the opportunity to shoot steel targets that happened to be made by Thor Targets. We shot the standard dueling tree as part of a competition. Needless to say, I did not spend much time examining the tree, but had a very good time shooting free ammunition.

Fast forward a few months to present day. I wandered in to a local gun store and low and behold, set up outside the store, there were a variety of steel targets made by Thor Targets. Options included torso targets, gongs, and the familiar dueling tree. I was overwhelmed with choices, but limited by funds on hand. I ended up settling for a steel of a deal (insert nonamused face here). The gun shop had a package deal for sale; one 17.5"x11.5" silhouette steel target, one bracket hanger, one stand base, and one 4' 2x4 for the price of $110. I couldn't resist this enticing offer, so I forked over the cash and left satisfied with my new target.

According to Thor Targets, they use a proprietary blend to create steel stronger than AR500. If I remember correctly, the guys at the shop had named the steel AR558. Of course, names are not as important as function. A product can have the most intriguing name, but if it fails to perform, it is worthless scrap.