JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to reloading and I'm considering the purchase of a brass cleaner (among other toys :)). I have collected a lot of pistol brass that I can use to reload. I have a couple of questions to those more experienced reloaders:

1) How critical is it to clean your brass before reloading? I've heard different opinions on this.
2) What's your take on a tumbler-type versus ultrasonic (e.g., Hornady Lock-N-Load® Sonic Cleaner 2L)?

Thanks in advance for any input you can provide.

I tumble in walnut every time. Just like to make sure nothing is on or in the cases that I didn't intend to be there. I like my guns enough to shoot clean ammo rather than take my chances.
High polish for really shiny brass looks good but I've never found any improvement in performance. It can be argued that it allows you to see imperfections easier. For rifle it has more merit in my opinion but for pistol I'm not so sure.

I've tried the ultrasonic method a few times with marginal success. Stopped using it more because I didn't like to have to make sure they were dry. There has been a lot of loaders on here that have posted great success with it though. I think both work just fine when you have them set up right, it just comes down to your preference. The one I'm seriously looking in to at some point is the tumbler with steel pins.

Cleaning the brass just makes it easier on your reloading dies. If you load dirty brass into your dies they can gouge the interior and make the life shorter. I clean with walnut that I get from the pet store. It is used for lizards and such. Much cheaper than buying from a reloading supply or gun store, and put in some Nu Finish car polish. It really make the brass look good. I do not think it shoots any better shiny but I do like it that way.