JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Not sure if this thread should be here or in handgun discussion, and this has probably been answered earlier, but I am somewhat new to site and was wondering what handgun brand and caliber people carry while bowhunting. I used to not carry at all, but with more four legged and some two legged critters willing to contest your kill I started carrying. Plus, went hog hunting and it was recommended to carry should you not make that perfect shot on a boar.

Anyway, I carry a Taurus PT24/7 .45, which is a nice size, but I'm thinking maybe .357, .9mm or .40mm might be easier to shoot. I'm a good shot with my rifles (-nikon scope is a big help-) but a pretty poor pistol shot and I am practicing, just need some more time at the range. I have shot a .357 Ruger revolver with more accuracy, and thinking of a Vaquero, but its a little big.

So any suggestions or advice would be welcome.

A .45ACP is a poor choice for game animals, if it has JHP loads in it.

I was hunting with a friend and he had his rifle slung across his back, when he jumped a buck. He drew his Colt .45ACP loaded with Federal Hydra Shoks and shot the buck in the butt as it hopped away.

I tracked the deer and put it down with a single shot from a .357 magnum, with a 140 grain SJHP that i handloaded. My shot went through both lungs and out the other side.

The .45ACP Federal Hydra Shok penetrated about 2 1/2" into the muscle, while the round did cause a massive bruise, which ruined the whole hind quarter, it was an epic failure as far a penetration.

A cast lead bullet might work much better in the .45ACP, but i have not done any testing with these loads to see for myself.

When i bow hunted i carried a 6" .357 magnum with the 140 grain SJHP, which was a compromise load.