JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a very basic prepping question since I'm a total beginner. As I begin to prep for earthquake & any other emergencies at our house, I'm starting with water.

Is the Costco Kirkland bottled water adequate for long term storage? I know I shouldn't store water long term in milk jugs or other such cheap plastic that could biodegrade over time. But are the plastic bottle of the typical bottled water ok? And how frequent should I rotate & replenish my bottled water supply? Once a year? Two years?

Thanks to everyone in advance for your answers. People on this website have helped me with awesome information & so I'm grateful.

I would think so it is important to not store it on cement like your garage floor put wood under it
so it does not sit of cement I don't think water goes bad may not taste fresh but drinkable.

Cases of bottled water have dates on them, so just keep an eye on those. I keep about 5 cases on hand and buy the Winco brand since that's the cheapest I've found: 35 pack for $3.28= 9.3 cents/bottle. The case I bought yesterday had a best by date of 4/2018. Remember, that is a best by date, not a use by date, so I think it's safe to assume bottled water has at least a 2-year shelf life.

Warehouse stores buy bottled water by the semi-truck load, so they will get a ton of it at a time that all has the same date. Once I use a case, I just check the stock at the store every time I go and wait until they have a fresh shipment before replacing it so I'm not rushed to use it up.