Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Bolt Gun advise

Discussion in 'Rifle Discussion' started by beranimus, Nov 1, 2014.

1. beranimus

beranimus Veneta Active Member

So I am wondering what the difference in the receiver/action of the Savage Axis vs something like the Savage 10pc or similar.

Basically I've got $1200 to spend on a firearm. So I'm thinking a bolt gun. I'm interested in the Savage 10PC but I'm wondering if I could get something like the a Savage Axis for cheap and swap out the barrel and stock and have a better rifle than an off the shelf 10PC.

Im also wanting to know what if anything would need to be done to the action to improve it. I'm relatively new to bolt guns. I've shot them but not nearly as much as pistols or semiautos.

I'm sure you all know this but looks like a Savage axis is $250 to $300 where as the 10PC is in the $800 range.

Thanks for the advise

2. Joe13

Joe13 NW of Vancouver Opinionated & Blunt Bronze Supporter 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

What will the rifle be used for?

Rem 700's are nice if you have the funds for one.

Sgt Nambu likes this.
  3. DieselScout

DieselScout S Clackamas County Well-Known Member

This is the key question.

Sgt Nambu likes this.
  4. beranimus

Maybe hunting but mostly just target shooting. Ideally suppressed but not for a year or so. But within 500 yards. I was looking more for a Savage or possibly Tikka T3. But $1200 is my budget. Just trying to maximize my dollar. And if there any left over get a few hundred dollar scope until I can get something better.

5. DieselScout

1200 for rifle and glass?

6. beranimus

If possible. But maybe just the rifle. My thinking was a Savage 10pc or similar for $750ish and the rest on cheap glass until I can get something better. Just wanted to see if I could build something better for around the same money or maybe a bit more up to the $1200.

7. Otter