Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Big Horn & Mt. Goat

Discussion in 'Northwest Hunting' started by Vaultman, Feb 26, 2014.

1. Vaultman

Vaultman Clackamas Co, Oregon Active Member

I am an Oregon resident, and have been putting in for a few years for the Oregon Big Horn and Mt. Goat controlled hunt draws. In reading the regulations this year I realized that Oregon has NO preference point system for these. It is a straight lottery every year with a less than 1% chance at a draw. So when not acquiring preference points your odds rarely change with the years. I could put in every year until I'm 70 and still not draw.

I want to be able to hunt Mt. Goat and Big Horn. What states have these hunts and have an actual points accumulating system?

Any suggestions?

2. Oregonhunter5

Oregonhunter5 2C IDAHO Well-Known Member

Go to Nevada or Montana for sheep, and Canada for goats.

3. Mark W.

Mark W. Silverton, OR Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

With what 11 Goat tags and 86 Sheep tags issued. I don't think you have much chance past luck to get one. Unless of course you buy one at auction.

4. nextgenar

nextgenar roseburg Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

But it's not impossible to draw. My brother in law drew a tag for hart mountain the first year he applied. I went with him it was a truly fun once in a lifetime hunt.

5. Vaultman

I intend to keep putting in here in Oregon... but I was just looking for a state that has better odds at getting a tag. That is the first part, then I have to fill the tag...

6. mjbskwim

mjbskwim Salmon,Idaho Well-Known Member

Alaska?

7. Geol

Geol Eastern WA New Member

If you're young, you can figure what it would cost to apply for out of state for several years, than compare it to the cost of going to a guaranteed guided hunt. The guided hunt beats the out of state application fees accrued over the years.

8. RPS

RPS Central Point, OR Retail Profit Systems