Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Best hunting / pack saw

Discussion in 'Northwest Hunting' started by Vaultman, Nov 14, 2015.

1. Vaultman

Vaultman Clackamas Co, Oregon Active Member

I broke my saw that I have been carrying for the last 10 years or so. It never really got much use, and was kinda cheaply made. A gerber exchange blade that is mostly plastic. So I did some "research" on youtube, but typically find either a boning saw or a brush saw. What I want is one saw that fits this criteria:

1. Has two different type of blades (easily changeable, for in the field), one for brush cutting and one for bone.
    2. Is lightweight (to set a bench mark, let's just say less than 14 oz).
    3. Foldable but must be strong.
    4. Preferably has a sheath. Bonus would be if the sheath held the saw and an extra blade or two.

Not to concerned about cost, lets say up to $100. Which I would imagine would cover any non-custom saw for this purpose.

Anyone out there got one they use and would recommend.

2. Joe13

Joe13 NW of Vancouver Opinionated & Blunt Bronze Supporter 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

If you've made do without it so far then why bother replacing it?:rolleyes:

I'm more of an axe or machete guy depending on the terrain.

I'd do a search for them on Amazon and read the reviews for the higher rated ones.

mjbskwim likes this.
  3. mjbskwim

mjbskwim Salmon,Idaho Well-Known Member

I was gunna ask the same.
    But there are plenty out there from 'cheesy to pretty nice.
    I would hit a sportsman warehouse or cabelles to get my hands on a few

Joe13 likes this.
  4. Vaultman

It didn't get much use, but every year it got used once, and it was a very important use.

When hunting, chopping with an axe or machete is too loud. A hand saw can be really quiet. What I want it for is limbing a little of a tree for line of sight from my stand / seated position.

Joe13 likes this.
  5. Vaultman