JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.

CC cal. for blk bear

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Reactions
Ok here is the deal. I work in the "delivery" business. And recently came basically face to face with a good size black bear. Head about 20" and had a azz about 36". So got me thinking of what caliber would be best for a black bear. MY OPTIONS ARE .45/.40/357/ other. Now i dont plan on huinting them or able to carry any kind of cannon. We;re talkin CC 6-10 rnds.
So any thoughts?

FMJ or solid lead is what you need for Bear as you are looking for penetration to vital organs instead of expansion. Either way it takes time for the bear to bleed out and a canister of Bear guard pepper spray would likely be more effective.

Of the three options you listed, I'd have to go with the .357 to get through the hide/hair and still get good penetration. And no JHP either...

However, personally I wouldn't be comfortable with anything less than a .44 (If I had a choice)

(8) of my 230gr hollow points from my Kimber Raptor ll .45 is my best for a hand gun. (16) if I thought I needed to load up the other magazine. :s0131:

Hollow Points are definitely not the best option - especially in .45 ACP. You simply won't get good penetration. Don't take me wrong, I love .45 ACP and it happens to be my primary carry (with 230 gr JHP). However, there is a BIG difference when shooting a human (in self defense - God forbid we ever need to) and shooting a black bear.

Like others have said: hard cast, high energy bullets like .44 .454 10 mm etc

Ok thanks for the clarification SnackCracker. I can see that a hard cast bullet would make better penetration. But wouldn't a 230gr FMJ make sufficient penetration at say 50 yards or less? And without hitting something vital in the bear would any hand gun work?

Just asking and Thanks!