Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Best hand gun cal. for bear

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by 9mmD, May 20, 2010.

1. 9mmD

9mmD sw wa Member

Ok here is the deal. I work in the "delivery" business. And recently came basically face to face with a good size black bear. Head about 20" and had a azz about 36". So got me thinking of what caliber would be best for a black bear. MY OPTIONS ARE .45/.40/357/ other. Now i dont plan on huinting them or able to carry any kind of cannon. We;re talkin CC 6-10 rnds.
    So any thoughts?

2. jordanvraptor

jordanvraptor Oregon City, Oregon Well-Known Member

FMJ or solid lead is what you need for Bear as you are looking for penetration to vital organs instead of expansion. Either way it takes time for the bear to bleed out and a canister of Bear guard pepper spray would likely be more effective.

3. SnackCracker

SnackCracker Lake oswego, OR Member

Of the three options you listed, I'd have to go with the .357 to get through the hide/hair and still get good penetration. And no JHP either...

However, personally I wouldn't be comfortable with anything less than a .44 (If I had a choice)

4. Cougfan2

Cougfan2 Hillsboro, OR Well-Known Member

.357 with good hard cast 158 gr RN of SWC bullets.

5. sheepman

sheepman Las Vegas NV Member

Of what you listed I wood go with the 357 180 grain hard cast, my second chose would be a 40 with 180 grain bullet. i am assuming that the the 45 was an acp.

6. MountainBear

MountainBear Sweet Home, OR Well-Known Member

Agreed. Hard cast lead bullets in a .357 would be the option I would use out of the choices you listed.

7. sillyrabbit

sillyrabbit Salem, Oregon Member

Glock 20 or 29 (10MM)

8. MrNiceGuy

MrNiceGuy between springfield and shelbyville Well-Known Member

500s&w magnum.

with all others you're just compromising.

9. Father of four

Father of four Portland, Oregon Well-Known Member