Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Best Ear Protection- Ear Plugs or Ear Muffs?

Discussion in 'Gear & Accessories' started by 9mm guy, Mar 13, 2016.

1. 9mm guy

9mm guy Tualatin Active Member

What do all of you experienced shooters recommend in terms of the best ear protections? I've been shooting for about 3 years and I've been wearing those headphone type of ear muffs. They're cheap and easy to take off when I'm talking to anyone on the range when there's no firing going on of course.

But I find that the pressure of the ear muffs hurt the area around my ears after about an hour. Also the ear muffs pushes against my eye protection glasses which makes it uncomfortable. And I am finding myself at the range longer and longer and so I'm looking more towards those foam ear plugs. Plus if I'm shooting rifle or shotgun, resting my cheek against the butt of the gun often pushes the ear muffs over and opens them up which is no good. In addition, I saw a YouTube video that recommended ear plugs over ear muffs due to their greater protection.

I'm also curious about the Howard Leight ear plugs which looks like a reverse headphone style that Hickok45 wears in his YouTube videos. Has anyone tried them and are they effective? What do you all recommend? I'm thinking of just going with those foam ear plugs for an outdoor range. Are they good enough protection without doubling them up with the ear muffs? Thanks in advance for your answers.

Last edited: Mar 13, 2016
  2. Joe13

Joe13 NW of Vancouver Opinionated & Blunt Bronze Supporter 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

I just use the 4.99 buds that have a string between them.

No muffs cuz of the shooting glasses.

3. jbett98

jbett98 NW Oregon Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

I always have the yellow foam plugs in my pocket, so they're the first line of defense, then the ear muffs on top of those for the really loud guns.

4. Stomper