JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Does anyone know of any good ranges to get some basic firearm training in Portland or near there for a decent price? I was hoping to do a day class for pistols, but open to rifle training as well.

I don't own a firearm so they place would have to allow rentals too.

Thanks!

My wife and I did our very first handgun class with Ryan Hatch. I thought it was excellent. It was very focused for a absolute beginner as well. So when you went to the range it was very low stress. Load one round in the magazine, load magazine, fire round, unload mag, load 2 rounds, etc. All with the instructor standing at your side.
http://www.hatchtraining.info/

The place to shoot has about ~20 rental guns. But if you go just to shoot they dont do instruction. But it is a good place to try out several types of guns.
http://www.theplacetoshoot.com/

They dont allow someone to come in by themselves and rent a gun though (because of people who have done this to shoot themselves). You have to go with someone or bring your own gun if you are alone

They have classes but I have not done them.

Dear EE,

I don't know about pistol training, but for basic rifle marksmanship there's no better training than Project Appleseed. http://appleseedinfo.org/

There's an Appleseed weekend coming up next month (16th & 17th) in Dundee, OR which is roughly 30 min. south of Portland down 99W. It will be at the Chehalem Valley Sportsman's Club. Forum member Kimber Custom is the regional coordinator for Appleseed in this area and may be able to hook you up with a loaner rifle. You'd of course need to bring your own .22 ammo. Here's the link to the current schedule for Oregon events: <broken link removed>