JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I plan to drift my kayak on the Tualatin and try for some bass soon. Catch and release. I saw a guy and his son get a nice smallmouth bass there a couple years ago and always meant to do the same since I paddle that river often.

Native Portlander here, I've taken my share of trout in a few states, but I have ZERO experience with Oregon bass, proper lures or fishing on the Tualatin in general. Large/small mouth? Is there a season? What else should I know?

Would appreciate some friendly scoop or a decent place to look up these specifics.

Thanks in advance!

I plan to drift my kayak on the Tualatin and try for some bass soon. Catch and release. I saw a guy and his son get a nice smallmouth bass there a couple years ago and always meant to do the same since I paddle that river often.

Native Portlander here, I've taken my share of trout in a few states, but I have ZERO experience with Oregon bass, proper lures or fishing on the Tualatin in general. Large/small mouth? Is there a season? What else should I know?

Would appreciate some friendly scoop or a decent place to look up these specifics.

Thanks in advance!

The last time I fished the Tualatin was about 15yrs ago, Put my ranger bass boat in at the Tualatin ramp fished down to the dam and back on 4th of July. They were spawning then and caught lots of Largemouth on spinnerbaits and flippin a jig in the laydown trees. Smallmouth could have taken over by know. The most fish caught were down around 405 towards the dam in all the S curves of the river from what I remember.